top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNhu Bui Quynh

Part 2: UV Mapping and Texture Mapping

Using my knowledge implemented in the Specialization course: Designing 3D Assets, I unwrap and project different body parts of the dragon on either X, Y or Z-axis using UV Planar in Maya.


This is my finished UV Map for the dragon. I lay out different body parts clearly so when it comes to texture mapping, it would be much easier and organized.


When experiencing with coloring the Dragon, I came up with this issue: The texture is not shown in Maya Viewport when I assign material attribute to it. However, it is because I have not pressed "6"- the Shaded and Texture display mode. This might be a minor problem, but when searching for solutions I also find out other shortcut for display mode like : "5" for Shaded Display ( Without Texture) and "4" for Wireframe Display.






This is the part when I experiment with various color options for the dragon. At first, I plan to make my dragon colorful and vibrant, just like the dragon we have in dragon-dance in festivals.






However, none of these color options seems to make my dragon distinctive. I began searching and finding more inspirations. Suddenly, Vietnamese ancient porcelain dish comes into my head.






Vietnam is famous for its splendid blue de Hué porcelain. The most beautiful pieces often have a pearl with a flaming tail persued by a dragon, the symbol of the emperor. And like China, Vietnam has a long history of producing great ceramics. So I thought: Why not make my dragon a porcelain dragon, with only 2 colors: deep blue and porcelain white?


This is my Texture Map for the Dragon:


And my Porcelain Dragon turns out be like this :













3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page